Independence day.


Independence day.  Freedom day.

… and Christ gives us the greatest freedom we could ever know.

iloveyouso (2).png
“You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.” Galatians 5:13, NIV

I started the day catching up with a dear friend before we move.  Jayson and I spent the rest of the day outside in the pool, and we spent the evening in the river.  It was a hot day refreshed by crisp water and good friends.


I want to share something special from my quiet time yesterday.

But He put them all outside, took her by the hand and called saying, ‘Little girl, arise.’ Then her spirit returned, and she arose immediately… (Luke 8: 54-55a, NKJV)

In one of Jesus’s many miracles, we see the father of a twelve year old little girl that has lost her life.  In his desperation, he goes to the one true Healer.

Her dad believed Jesus, even when the people criticized him.

In response to Jesus’s command, the girl came back to life immediately.  The same Jesus that commands the raging storm to calm can bring us back to life… immediately.  Nature does not ponder or question His command, it responds instantanteously.

Our God is a God of urgency… He knows this world’s desperate need for a Savior, and His grace sweeps down.

I wondered, is that me?  When this world take the life out of me… the zeal out of my eyes… the curiosity out of my spirit…

When this cold world leaves you hopeless, do you believe?

Will I… will you…arise when He takes your hand, because He is always reaching out to you.

Look up to His hand, and take hold.  Grasp that patient, still hand, and arise back to this life for which He has called you…

…immediately.

Take hold..png


Leave a comment